Courageous

IMG_2727

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

Joshua 1:9

… Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Be strong and courageous…..

Joshua 10:25

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you, He will never leave you, nor forsake you.

Duet. 31:6

… “Be strong and courageous”….

Duet. 31:7

…. Do not be afraid, keep on speaking, do not be silent…

Acts 18:9

So, Joshua 1:9 stood out to me last night, that Be STRONG AND COURAGEOUS, do NOT be DISCOURAGED! It seems in the last week or so it seems like I’ve been dealing with a lot of fear paralysis, not so much in myself but in others.. I have a little still in myself, but I think I have mine mostly figured out. I think the one thing that still nags at me a little is being concerned to stepping out and doing what I am called to do because it either hasn’t worked before and I’m feeling called to pursue it again, or I feel like I am called to adopt teenager. Though, looking at the bio’s on some of these precious pre-teens melted my heart and I know that is what I am meant to do. That is where my heart lies..

Anyway, I’ve always believed that everything in the Bible is put there for a reason, and if it’s in there more than once it is EXTREMELY important, and if it’s in there more than two or three times you’d better dang listen. The Bible says “Be strong and courageous” and “Do not be afraid” over a hundred times, I really need to sit down and count them out.. As followers of Christ we have been commanded to be strong and courageous and we do that by knowing that through Christ we have been given the strength to do what needs to be done (Phil. 4:13: I can do ALL things through Christ who gives me strength), we simply need to know that He is always with us…

When we follow in Christ’s footsteps we are enabled to accomplish anything, we are confident, we are strong, persevering, we are able to keep going even in the worst of times. Which allows us to step out when we are called to. We aren’t afraid to pop that comfort bubble that keeps us safe. It can be as simple as finding a job or leaving home, or it can be as complicated as going to Africa or traveling a path you dread in order to get to the desired destination. But here’s the thing, if we are operating under God’s will, listening to Him and allowing Him to guide us and help us, nothing can stop us, nothing can harm us, and no one can convince us otherwise.

We were at Acquire the Fire this last weekend and Ron was saying “EVEN IF” Trust in God.. EVEN IF God does not “save” you, you will be taken care of. It’s having that kind of confidence that will grab God’s attention and have Him going “I can use this one” And that, that is the kind of confidence I aim to achieve.. EVEN IF it’s not working, God will bring something else. EVEN IF something doesn’t happen, I will be taken care of. Simply because, I am Jessica Bot Yahweh.. I am, Jessica. Daughter of. the Almightly Yahweh… And my dear friends, no matter how far you think you are from God, He loves you enough to say you are His son, you are His daughter, so EVEN IF things are spiraling out of control, Be strong and courageous because the Yahweh is with you.. Yeshua is with you and ALL things, not some things, but ALL things are possible.. I honestly think that his is where I draw a vast majority of my confidence from… Especially after reading Ted Dekker’s Outlaw series (which I personally think EVERYONE needs to read because they will learn all sorts of things if they are open to it..). And you see, when we can learn to be strong and courageous, we become Resilient…

Ron says the definition of Resilient means “bounce back, baby!” We have been quite amused with that. But it’s true, to be resilient is to be like a rubber band, you can stretch it and it just snaps back effortlessly. Or it’s like the shocks on a car, you hit one of these canyon sized potholes that are out here, the car will bounce and settle itself again. If we become Resilient in Christ we can be stretched and never broken, we can say “YES! EVEN IF the world is falling apart around me, I will remain strong and courageous because MY GOD IS BIGGER! MY GOD IS STRONGER! MY GOD WILL TAKE CARE OF ME FOR HE IS MY PROVIDER! He provides my strength, my joy, my peace, and hope, my comforter. He is, the great I AM.” And this, is why we can be resilient in the darkest times..

Now, I will leave you with a song from Casting Crowns..

Courageous

God Bless,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

