Living Without Regret

IMG_1985

Alright, two things..

One! I find if funny how being young and determined motivates people. I’m 20 and I want to learn, I am looking for any possible way to learn and actually get taught, not just going through books or articles or videos. I want hands on instruction. I’ve come across this guy who tells me that he’s impressed with the fact that I can’t afford to be taught, to receive lessons, so I’m going my own route to find ways of being able to afford it. Like he says, “working horses for a living consists of a lot of bargaining and trading.” But as long as everyone’s happy in the end it’s all good. So! Lesson for the day, if you want to learn and you want to make something of yourself, make your passion great and your desire to learn unending. Be determined, be persistent. Always be respectful, but be tenacious. One day you’ll come across someone who will admire it and be willing to help. Always ask, even the stupid questions, what’s the worst they are going to say? No? 4 years ago I asked a guy in Arizona to come and do a clinic for me. Mom said he wouldn’t. I was 16 at that point being told “You can ask, but he’s not going to come to Texas.” My response “I’ll ask, what’s the worst he’s going to say? That I’m crazy and he won’t do it?” Well.. A few months later, I was doing a clinic with a trainer of Arizona..

Two! On a more serious topic. We all have things we enjoy. Me, I’m active, and though I do enjoy life and have the built in desire to live, I do tend to live on the more dangerous side working with horses and all. Working with horses, running (despite bad cardio and mild asthma issues), been tossing around the idea of working with a local big cat rescue so I can work with all the giant kitties, I would like to one day get involved in mounted search and rescue with my mom, as well as get involved with teaching the protection dogs.

And you know, there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s not as dangerous as being in the military, or being an officer, or a fireman. Or at least, I don’t think it is.. Anyway, point is, everything we do in life involves some sort of risk, some sort of injury even if it’s just minor. Sitting at a desk, you can end up with neck problems, shoulder problems, back problems… walking down the street, I came across someone who stepped off a curb funny and blew her ACL… Any type of contact sport, soccer, basketball, football… Or even ice skating and dancing.. There is the possibility of danger in anything we do and we can live in a constant state of worry waiting for the worst, or we can live life and be happy!

Some people live more in 20 years than others do in 80. It’s not the time that matters, it’s the person.

The 10th Doctor.

I’d rather live a short life that I don’t regret. Than a long life full of “I wish…” Yes, I love my family and friends and it would suck if I died. But, at least they know and I know that I lived a life worth living. Obviously we take precautions and do what we need to do but accidents happen. And you know, the other thing is, there’s other things that could happen, especially with riding horses, but that’s were you improvise. I know it’s easier said than done, but the risk of ending up completely paralyzed usually isn’t likely.

People could argue with my philosophy all day long, and do argue it. But no one will convince me that I shouldn’t do something I love because it could hurt me. That’s where I would tell them that between doing what I can to assure my safety and my chiropractor, I’ve got it. In the mean time, I want to be someone even if that someone is only a someone in my mind, I don’t want to look back on my life wishing I did more.

So my friends, be happy, do what you love. If you do what you love and you take the time to learn it and get good at it, you won’t regret it. Don’t live in a constant state of fear because simply getting out of bed in the morning can put you in just as much risk as any job or hobby. Seriously take a look at this:

Nearly 1.3 million people die in road crashes each year, on average 3,287 deaths a day. An additional 20-50 million are injured or disabled. More than half of all road traffic deaths occur among young adults ages 15-44

ASIRT

Out of 50 sum MILLION people that are involved in car crashes. We’re going to worry over working with a horse, or rock climbing, or mountain biking, or working with big cats. I’m not saying I never worry about doing something, shoot, I have a mustang that is insistent on throwing me when I get on her and I know what I good fall can do to a person. So yes, riding her does scare me but, I get on her anyway because the only way to better myself and her is to put myself at risk. Unfortunately that’s just part of my job, part of my passion, therefore, part of my life. Now, after nearly 2 years of being thrown off and on and an additional year of debating whether I should rehome her or try again, the following year I got a chiropractor after her who explained to me her back and shoulders were out and then I got someone to help me work with her and got me started. I think I’ve ridden her more in the last two months than I have in the last 4 years that I’ve had her. Granted we are still working on getting her out of the habit of bucking. But I haven’t ended up on the ground as of yet. So far, I’m glad I have stuck with her. It’s a great learning experience for both of us.

At this point I feel like I’m rambling and not really getting the point I’m trying to make. So I’m just going to be done now.

For now let’s worry a little less and enjoy life a little more,

God Bless,

Jessica

3 thoughts on “Living Without Regret

  1. Sitting too long itself is bad for you! But if you just hurt yourself by stepping off of a curb…maybe there’s an issue with cell/tissue integrity? I’m an ND student….this is how I think….luckily a natural health website pays me to be mouthy (that’s risky too in case teachers don’t like what I say! but I am fourth year so it won’t matter soon)

    • I know! The body just isn’t designed to be stationary for extended periods of time..
      I wasn’t the one who hurt myself.. it was someone I came across while interning with my chiropractor. She stepped off the curb, ended up with a sprained ankle and somehow managed to tear the ACL.. I don’t really remember all the details on what happened, but that was the gist of it. Shoot, she didn’t realize she was at risk of doing it, as if I recall correctly she wasn’t having any leg pains prior to..
      I’m studying in Sports Therapy so I completely get where you are coming from! First thing our brains do is go to what we know.
      Although, I think I like the idea of being paid to be mouthy! Sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

