Why I Don’t Like Christians

Once again, I hear the devastating effects of the stereo-typed “Christian.” Those judgmental, bible thumpers that put a bad taste in our mouths. Yes, I’m being a bit blunt, but it’s true. They are the reason I… Very strongly dislike the word Christian and don’t refer to myself as a Christian. It’s not all Christians, but it seems like a majority of people who say they are Christian are like this. So it’s not really that I don’t like Christians, I don’t have a problem with them. For a long time, till I figured out how I wanted to phrase it, I referred to myself as a Christian and still do occasionally if I need a short and sweet term for what I believe. I honestly couldn’t think of anything else that was catchy and would stop people, that still went along with my topic…

You see, I know that for many they may truly have a good intent, but when you judge someone harshly it tends to turn them further from God because they think “Well, if this is what God’s followers are suppose to be like, I don’t want any of it.” On top of that, you also are judged and you should be positive that God will not judge you harshly for your passing judgment where judgment should not be passed.

The other thing, don’t be judgmental thinking you are going to change them because

1. It only serves to pull them further from God.

2. We are instructed to love. The bible says it quite plainly in Matthew to LOVE your neighbor as yourself. And for some of us, that really is hard because we don’t love ourselves, so we treat others the way we treat ourselves. If you don’t love yourself, you really should seek council from a pastor or God fearing mentor. Seek God’s love and mercy and grace and forgiveness, and you’ll find love… a love far beyond anything you’ve ever known.

We aren’t instructed to “love if…” if they are atheist, we love them. If they are agnostic, we love them, if they are Jewish, we love them. Catholic, we love them. Non-denominational, Inter-denominational, Baptist, Pentecostal, Homosexual, Transgender, Mentally Retarded, or perfectly functional, WE ARE INSTRUCTED TO LOVE THEM INTO THE ARMS OF GOD! Not judge them and tell them they are going to hell or tell them God won’t love them until, or that God won’t forgive them unless… God loves every person on this earth… Each and every one of us He is waiting for us to run into His arms to accept and claim His love and call him Abba!

I don’t say any of this in a condemning in fact, yet again, we aren’t suppose to condemn people… As followers of God that isn’t our job. Condemnation isn’t even of God. So if you are feeling condemned, know that is not of God, that is what Satan uses… God Convicts… Never condemns… Anyway, I don’t say this to condemn anyone. I am actually immensely excited as I write this because just thinking about how much love my God has for me, and the fact that I am his adopted daughter who He calls His. Fills me with joy! What’s great is it isn’t just me, it’s you too. So don’t ever let anyone affect your walk with God. Don’t let them convince you that you’re going to hell, or God doesn’t love you… Sure, you may have some changes that need to be made, but God will never turn His back on you…

So to those who judge and condemn,

1. Don’t do to others if you wouldn’t want it done to you.

2. Don’t judge harshly, or unfairly and don’t condemn.

Matthew 7:1-5 (NIV)

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

For those who are the target of a judgmental Christian, I do apologize.. However:

  1. Forgive them.
  2. Don’t let it sway your walk with God
  3. Don’t let it turn you away from God
  4. Just tell them God loves you the way you are and you’ll come around when you’re ready.

I’ll leave y’all with that.

Have a wonderful week!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

