Boyfriends

Here’s the thing… I’m being questioned again about my Relationships, or lack thereof when it comes to boyfriends… There’s one big thing I’m hoping to accomplish by this post simply because I know it’s not going to stop making people ask me why I don’t have a boyfriend. But I hope it gives anyone who’s looking for a relationship something to think about.

No. I don’t have a boyfriend. Not for any reason other than, I’m too particular and I don’t want to have 10 boyfriends, or end up with 3 or 4 ex-husbands.

You see, I’m particular about my health. I want a guy who WANTS to be healthy with me. I want him to care about the foods that we put into our bodies just as much as the chemicals and crap that we want to keep out of our bodies. Because if we both eat healthy together, we will be more success full because we wont be bringing home foods that one or the other can’t/shouldn’t eat.

I like physical work. Mixed Martial Arts and Krav Maga, both things I would like to continue doing for years to come. I would LOVE to put Martial Art matting into a room so that myself and my husband can roll… Anymore I think that is almost as important as having a guy who takes a liking to the horses and will go riding with me. I have quite literally been swept off my feet by Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, and I want a spouse that will practice with me. That will do the strength and conditioning work that comes with Martial Arts. It makes it much more fun to have a partner who is doing it with you!

I want a guy who is hopefully musically inclined and likes books. There’s something special about being able to share music and books. It gets you down to a more emotional level of sharing, especially when you are talking about the Ted Dekker books… It’s not a huge thing that I have to have, but having a guy who plays an instrument and or can sing, AND he likes to read, I’d be a happy camper to have something that we can share on a more emotional level.

I also want someone who is strongly walking with God. Or at the very least, has a goal to walk strongly with Him and is actively seeking God. Someone who shares my same beliefs…

And last, but probably not least, it’s important that he compliments me, and I compliment him. Not that we literally compliment each other, but that we bring out the admirable things in each other. We bring out the best. If he was always complimenting me I’d probably have to slap him… Too much of a good thing, ya know? It would drive me batty!

But see, this is why I am 20, almost 21 and have yet to have a boyfriend. Because I want someone who is going to pair well with me. Not that I expect to get everything… No… But to share goals and interests, if I am patient, I hope to find someone that I can share these things with. And see, I’m not worried about having kids, so if it takes me till I’m in my 30’s, I’m cool with that!!

The other thing is that I’ve got stuff I want to do, I don’t have time to worry about whether I’m spending time with my boyfriend or not… I barely have time to spend with my horses, and then my boyfriend would get his feelings hurt because school, MMA, and horses would come before him!! I don’t want to have to worry about finding time for him too.

I think if more people had the ability to be patient, and not jump into a relationship, I think there would be plenty more successful marriages. It’s not like I haven’t had guys offer… In fact, I’ve had them offer to be…. roomates…. Partners… I don’t know what you’d call it exactly… But, I’m not interested in sleeping around with guys or with a guy unless I have a commitment and I know we at least have a shot and being together till death do us part… Plus, sleeping with multiple people puts you at risk of sexually transmitted diseases, and it’s great, because there are some that guys can carry and it doesn’t affect them, but it will jack up a woman… So yeah, one more reason to NOT sleep with a guy until I have a relationship that I know has a chance.

I’m a complicated person. I have my issues and I’m picky about who I will have as a boyfriend, but to anyone who has the patients and the guts to put up with me, he’ll find that I’m well worth the complications.

So there you have it, get through school, get through the things you really want to do that will require your boyfriend or girlfriend to take a seat on the curb and have an idea of what you want, or what will work well for you. Whether you are a man or woman, you have the right to have a spouse who takes an interest in what you love doing and will do it with you. You have the right to have a spouse who brings out the best in you.

Anyway, I think I’m done now…

Y’all have a good one.

Jessica

Leave a Reply

