Sin

So the past couple weeks, I’ve been being drawn to scripture in Proverbs. Most specifically the first few chapters dealing in “Wisdom” and “Warning Against Adultery.”

I’ve been mulling it over, unable to figure out why these scriptures have been jumping out at me… I’ve analyzed the scriptures breaking them down trying to find out if and why they would/could apply to me.

Wisdom is wisdom, there really wasn’t any question for me there as of to why I have been drawn to those scriptures. I’m moving to a new chapter in my life, with work, finances, a boyfriend, looking to try and expand my wings a little bit more… I need wisdom. Using wisdom is going to help me get through life successfully and in the way God is directing me. Wisdom will help me discern what is and isn’t God’s will for me. She will help me figure out how to decipher between what is right and what is wrong for me.

But the scriptures that were really just throwing me off was why I was being drawn to the scripture on adultery. One night, I was re-reading one of the chapters for the third time and something finally hit me.

“This sounds familiar…” As you read through the scripture… ‘for the lips of the adulteress drip honey, and her speech is smoother than oil, but in the end she is bitter as gall, sharp as a double-edged sword, her feet go down to death…’ ‘keep to a path far from her… Can a man scoop fire into his lap without his clothes being burned?… Then out came a woman to meet him, dressed like a prostitute with crafty intent… I have covered my bed with colored linens… I have perfumed my bed with myrrh, aloes and cinnamon. Come, lets drink deep of love till morning… My husband is not at home… All at once he followed her like an ox going to slaughter… little knowing it will cost him his life… Do not let your heart turn to her ways or stray into her paths…’

Now, if we know how sin works, we will see a pattern… Sin can look good, it can look harmless, it can even make it seem like “Well… it wouldn’t be ok under these conditions, but since this is like this, it’s ok now…” We are instructed to keep far from sin, be wise, be honest, be diligent and seek God. Because we can very easily get caught up in sin and it has the potential to swallow us up if we are not careful and stay away from it. Sin can look satisfying, it can dress itself up like there’s no other option. But to walk with integrity we must be honest in everything we do.

That means not stealing, whether we are stealing on what we think is an “I need” basis, or whether we are stealing because “So and so doesn’t know, and I’ve done this that or the other so I deserve this.”

Lying, whether we are lying to get us a better cut of something (which in all honesty can be ranked there with stealing), or lying to save your own butt…

Any work that isn’t honest, adultery, sex out of wedlock, disobedience, becoming drunk or high, even using perverse language and so on…

I’m not passing judgement just so we are clear, I’m simply pointing out what seems good, what seems like it isn’t a big deal, even looks appealing at times… Because that is what sin does.

Some steal because they think it is “owed” to them.

We lie to save our butts.

We have sex out of wedlock because “we plan to get married”

We disobey because “well, we wanted to do it.”

We become drunk/high to get rid of our problems in life.

We commit adultery because “Our husband/wife isn’t treating us right.”

We become abusive be it verbally or physically because we want to gain control.

We curse because it makes us sound “more mature” or because everyone else does it and we choose not to control our own tongues…

There’s “benefits” to sin or so we think, and it’s time to recognize the “seductive” ways of sin and steer clear of its path. Reality is, to stay honest, to walk with integrity and finish the days off knowing that we are in the right, so that there is no guilt to come in the future, we must learn to seek wisdom and keep self-control.

Scriptures can be found all through Proverbs but the main scriptures spoken of here are Proverbs 1-8.

God Bless,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

