Time Management

Something’s been on my mind… Time management… Or prioritizing… either way, I suck at both…

I’ve struggled the last few years… It really started about 3 years ago I think. I was noticing I was too tired. I would get the things done that needed done, and then I was too tired to do anything else. It was part of why I dropped out of MMA last year. Why I wasn’t working with horses. Why family time started dwindling, and I felt like I was becoming a little more reclusive all around. Things started going undone, and I would stress over having things to do the following days. Working a 9-5 job 4-5 days a week scared me because I didn’t think I could do it.

But here’s the thing. I started finding problems and worked with a doctor to start eliminating health issues. My hormones were out of whack, so we are balancing that out and that is helping with my sleep, helping me feel rested when I do sleep, increasing energy levels (even before menses) and helping me manage my stress and appetite. Magnesium baths are helping me sleep, helping with muscle soreness and Restless Leg Syndrome and Asthma. We are working on building my red blood cell count, as I’m losing too much blood and not able to replenish my blood, and I’m on something else, that tastes horribly nasty, and I’m not quite sure the purpose of it, other than it helps relieve menses pain that isn’t touched by Tylenol and Ibeprophin combined, and it isn’t a pain killer. So I’m not being knocked on my but for two days strictly to pain.

So even with all that, we also think there’s probably a fungal infection which could also be causing the fatigue but we haven’t started treating that yet. However, with my energy levels rising and getting more restful sleep, I was finding I was still hesitant on working 5 days a week.

However, I took the dive and went for it. Got a third job to add to the hoof trimming and first massage job. What I am finding has actually surprised me. I’ve found that being cooped up in a dark room for 5-7 hours a day, is actually pushing me to spend more time outside. It affects my energy levels at work, because being in a dark room is still causing me to get sleepy, but it’s still doable… It’s not like back in December and January when I was dozing while working on my clients… However, even still I am finding once I am done working, there is a whole new energy that is almost renewed in me, it’s that energy that makes me want to drive home with my windows down and my music up and then the moment I get home spend 2-3 hours outside with the horses, and then I can come in and get some more things done.

I know everyone is in different situations, I guess my push is to say this. If you find you are having trouble getting things done, there may be underlying causes…

If not, go that extra mile! You might just surprise yourself and find you are more productive!

If not, don’t get discouraged, it’s trial and error, start looking at all areas of your life, where are you spending your time? Can you ditch facebook for an hour or two… or four? Can you wake up an hour earlier or go to bed an hour later? Can you plan your meals ahead of time so you don’t have to spend the extra time during the week? Can your potty breaks be shorter? Can your children help around the house more? Can you be a little less wound up and learn to enjoy things throughout the day?

It’s a matter of finding your groove, finding what kicks up the motivation.

I always love when people get burnt out about Mondays… I’ve been like this for forever… Mondays have NEVER bothered me. Not during school, not during college, not now that I’m working. Monday is simply another day that needs doing. Each day has tasks to be completed. People dread Mondays, and to a degree I understand why, but it’s a matter of the mind, yeah? If you set Monday, or Tuesday, or Wednesday or Thursday or Friday up to be a bad day. It’s going to be a bad day! Get out of that mindset, understand it’s just another day, get up, and get it done!

If you want to get another job, get out and do it! If you don’t have time, find the time. If you can’t do, find a way. Get motivated, get pumped, if you have to listen to rock music at 4 a.m. while you’re driving to work DO IT!

Even still, I am cautious on adding things to my schedule, because I try to be very careful so I don’t burn myself out… because there is such a thing. I’m supposed to go running with a friend on Saturday at 7 a.m. before work at 9. I have a hard enough time getting up at 7:30 to be at work by 8:45. But, we are going to try it. I have someone to hold me accountable for it now. I’ve been wanting to get back into running and it just so happens he coaches track and cross-country running. He’s determined he can find a broken hipped asthmatic person a routine to get me back in shape to run again. And honestly, I’m excited! But that means I’m going to have to work running into my routine again, but here’s something else.

Working out, be it running, Martial Arts, Crossfit, even walking… Will also give you more energy. As long as you take care of your body and eat right, it will boost your energy levels. Just another thing to think about…

Anyway, I need to get off the computer…

Y’all have a goodnight now,

Jessica

 

Leave a Reply

